The Beatles would be jealous
Time Magazine
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric “AURA” Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric “AURA” Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric “AURA” Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric “AURA” Pro Series

ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric “AURA” Pro Series

In Stores: $3500+ Our Price: $2,495 Sale: $1,995

Sold out. Preorder now to lock in the sale price for January delivery.
Guarantee

30-day 100% money back guarantee that includes shipping fees both ways.

4.62 out of 5

Rated top 5% of guitars in USA 1700+ reviews
YellowPages perfect 5-star rating 64+ reviews
Productreviews.com 1500+ reviews
Sitejabber reviews 700+ reviews
Reseller Ratings 700+ reviews
Harmony Guitar reviews 1800+ reviews
Ultimate guitar reviews 900+ reviews
Ebay power seller 22 years 7,000+ reviews
National Viewpoint rating 13 years 100+ reviews
Better Business Bureau, A rating

60 years of playing, performing and teaching guitar has given Denny an advantage over the majority of guitar builders today. Denny understands the demands of the professional player because he is one. He discovered there are certain key elements that make a great guitar, and with that knowledge he created the Zager ZAD80 Series. Elements like solid wood construction, high quality hardware, a custom neck design that feels good in your hand, string spacing that allows you to move faster on the fretboard, that simultaneously prevents buzzes and rattles, combined with a special bracing system that produces one of the best sounds in the guitar industry today. Read more

Zager Pro Series guitars play a little easier and sound just a little more powerful than our regular series instruments.   The woods are aged longer.  The finish is applied thinner so the sound board moves half a millimeter more when the strings are hit providing a deeper bass response.  Each piece of abalone and pearl is laid by hand and in combination with gold grover tuners that “pop” to the eye on the red cedar finish.  Most customers buying our 80 Series are touring artists and veteran musicians coming from high level Martin, Taylor, Santa Cruz and Gibson.  Unlike our 20 and 50 Series guitars that use spruce and mahogany giving them a punchy bright character, the 80’s are constructed using East Indian rosewood and red cedar giving them a deeper, richer, more mellow response.

Denny wanted only the finest electronics system for the 80 series so he called Larry Fishman at world renowned “Fishman Transducers.” Fishman’s new Aura Digital Sound Imaging System allows you to download thousands of sound images directly from the Fishman online library that have been professionally mixed in Fishmans multi-million dollar recording studios. You can select from images mixed specifically for your Zager as well as thousands of others depending on the sound you’re looking for. Denny used to spend countless hours in studio time dialing in the perfect sound for his guitars. Fishman’s Aura Image Gallery Software (included) does this for you by allowing you to select from thousands of images in their online library that will give you the sound you want no matter what you’re looking for and downloading them onto your guitar via USB cable. Read the reviews, talk to the pros, and you will see this system dominates every guitar electronics package on the market today.

Players using the ZAD80CE AURA Pro Series say it matches or betters $3000 instruments, but with easier playability and a lower price since you’re buying direct from our workshop in Lincoln, Nebraska. Be sure to read artist comments and magazine reviews on the 80 as it consistently rates in the top 5% of acoustics made world wide. 100% money back guarantee including shipping fees both ways. It’s a lifetime instrument so it comes with a lifetime warranty.  Truly a work of art with a stunning sound that will get better year after year.

  • Full size dreadnought the most popular guitar size in the world.
  • Solid wood construction sounds better every year as it ages.
  • Venetian cutaway box design allows you to slide down low into the box for easier playability.
  • Fishman’s new AURA Digital Sound Imaging System that allows you to download thousands of sound images directly from the Fishman online library that have been professionally mixed in Fishmans multi-million dollar recording studios.
  • Built in genuine Fishman transducer  system allows you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full electric guitar.
  • Built in genuine Fishman automatic tuner system tunes your guitar perfectly in seconds and if you’re a beginner actually trains your ear for perfect pitch.
  • Built in genuine Fishman equalizer system gives you infinite sound possibilities allowing you to dial in the perfect sound.
  • Hand carved bracing for greater movement of the soundboard providing a richer sound.
  • Slim neck design feels natural in your hand making it easier to form chords.
  • Custom string spacing for greater speed and accuracy (and less rattles).
  • Zager soft touch fret design for less string bite and finger fatigue.
  • Adjustable truss rod to raise or lower action depending on your playing style.
  • Special ultra thin high gloss finish allows more movement of the body for deeper sound
  • Hand carved bone nut and saddle. (Found on predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Hand laid abalone inlay rosette with pearl fret markers.
  • Ivory binding detail and zipper stripe down back (Found in predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Genuine Grover tuning machines (best in the world).
  • 100% money back guarantee
  • Lifetime warranty

Videos

Features

guitar dimensions
Dreadnought Size Dimensions
Height: 41 inches
Box length: 20 inches
Waist: 11 inches
Widest bout: 15.5 inches
Depth: 4.75 inches
Scale length: 25.5 inches
guitar dimensions
Venetian Cutaway Style
A "Venetian Cutaway" is a guitar that has a section of the body "cut away" by the neck which makes it easier to slide your hand down low to reach chords near the sound hole. Denny braces the cutaways a little differently then his full box guitars so sound quality matches. If you’re a player that spends a lot of time on that part of the neck a cutaway box is invaluable.
guitar top cedar
Western Red Cedar Top
The most important part of an acoustic guitar is its top. The top acts like a speaker. When a string is plucked energy is transferred to the top and the top starts to move. Cedar is softer than spruce, and that softness translates into a sense of sonic warmth. Cedar guitars sound warmer, deeper and slightly richer. Used on only the highest quality acoustics in the world.
See full build sheet
guitar back sides rosewood
Indian Rosewood Back-sides
One of the most popular and traditional guitar woods of all time. Where mahogany lends itself to the midrange, rosewoods sonic profile is deeper in the low end. Not to take anything away from mahogany as many players will find it difficult to tell them apart, but the dedicated ear will notice a deeper, richer, sweeter tone coming from a rosewood guitar. Many players don’t know that cedar is one of the few woods that can outperform spruce when paired with rosewood which is why Denny uses a Western red cedar top with Indian rosewood back and sides on his 80 series guitars.
indian rosewood headstock
Indian Rosewood Headstock
Indian rosewood is commonly found on high-end guitars. This wood is heavier and more dense than mahogany and also is very stable and resonant. East Indian Rosewood is dark brown with sometimes purple-brown streaks giving a pleasant figure. The guitar head stock configuration is a registered trademark and is used under license from C.F. Martin & Co. Inc. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA.
travel size solid electric guitar
Mahogany Headstock
Mahogany is lightweight yet strong, and its timeless look is used on many quality guitars. The guitar head stock configuration is a registered trademark and is used under license from C.F. Martin & Co. Inc. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA.
guitar brace work
Zager Design (Hand Scalloped) Bracework
The technique of scalloping or shaving the braces can have a huge impact on the power and tone of an acoustic guitar. By shaving or reducing the thickness of the brace, it becomes more flexible and therefore lets the top move more freely. When done by a Master Luthier the brace maintains its structural integrity, while making the top more efficient. The result is faster attack, longer sustain, more bass, more power, and an overall improvement in the whole tone system.
guitar inlay
Full Abalone Inlay Inlay
Abalone inlay is found on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand one piece at a time, the color and translucence of each piece changes with different amounts of light. Not only does it add to the overall look of your guitar, but it also adds to the value. Our 900 Pro Series guitars have an inlay rosette around the sound hole in combination with inlay around the entire face as well as small cross fret markers going up the fret board
guitar fret crosses
Pearl Cross Fret-markers
Used on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand on the fret board one piece at a time. It's a very tedious, time consuming process but the results are breathtaking
Zipper Stripe Back-detail
Laid by hand one piece at a time. Adds to the overall beauty and sets off the color of the wood. Found on only the highest quality guitars in the world.
high gloss finish
High Gloss Finish
High-gloss finish provides excellent protection but at the same time is extremely light and elastic. This is a crucial point in both the sound of the guitar and its ability to age—which is what makes a guitar sound better year after year. A thick finish muffles a guitar's vibration and blocks aging.
guitar truss
Custom Adjustment Setting Truss-rod
Denny designs his guitars with a truss rod adjustment setting that allows you to dial in your guitar to your particular playing style. In this way if you're a heavy handed player you can set the action higher so you can "get on it" a little for more power, and if you're lighter handed touch player you can dial in the action low so you can move faster and play longer with less fatigue.
guitar transducer
Genuine Fishman Built-in-transducer
Fishman transducers are the highest quality transducers used in acoustic guitars today. A transducer is an amplification device placed under the saddle which allows you to plug into an amplifier and play an acoustic guitar like an electric guitar. This is all run by an on-board electronics package and equalizer that allows you to control the sound. A transducer properly installed by a pro luthier will bring out the bass response and rich ambiance of your guitar's wood. Done improperly your guitar will sound flat and have uneven tone quality.
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-automatic-tuner
Ask any pro who makes the finest guitar electronics systems in the world and 9 out of 10 will say Fishman. An electronic tuner allows you to tune your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional tuning methods. Simply hit a string and the LCD indicator guides you into perfect pitch. A red and green light instantly lets you know when the tune is dead on. This is a very important tool for the new player who is trying to develop and train their ear for perfect pitch. It's also helps the professional player who wants to get in perfect tune fas
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-equalizer
Fishman equalizers are the highest quality equalizers used in acoustic guitars today. The equalizer is an electronic unit that controls the sound and volume when plugged into an amplifier or PA system. There are adjustments for highs, mids, lows, and presence. Fishman EQ's are used exclusively on high end acoustics by artists such as Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, Alan Jackson and Aerosmith to name just a few.
guitar grover gears gold
Genuine Grover (gold) Tuning-machines
Genuine Grover sealed tuning machines are found on only the finest guitars made. Look at tuners on $2500+ acoustics and you will see the majority have "Grovers." Unlike open gear tuners where the tuning mechanism is exposed, Grover sealed tuners contain a lubricant that keep the tuning mechanism sealed air-tight so the gears turn smooth and continue to for the life of your instrument. Lifetime warranty. If you have a tuner go bad we'll replace it free of charge for life.
guitar nut
Bone Hand Carved Nut
Denny hand carves his nuts from bone for each guitar so the strings are set lower with custom spacing. Lower string heights make it easier to press down to form chords and it also increases finger speed. Custom spacing allows you to move faster with less buzzes, mutes, and rattles because you’re no longer bumping adjacent strings. Custom string spacing makes it easier for all hands sizes big and small. Lifetime warranty. Break a nut and we'll replace it free of charge for life
guitar saddle
Tusq Hand Carved Saddle
Denny hand carves each saddle for each individual guitar. Denny also adjusts the intonation settings to bring the guitar harmonically in balance with itself. This not only makes your guitar easier to play, but it also makes it sound more powerful. Customers say our guitars fall into tune easier and stay in tune longer...this is one of the reasons why. Denny uses only genuine "Tusq" brand saddles on his guitars which you generally only find on higher dollar acoustics . Lifetime warranty. Break a saddle and we'll replace it free of charge for life.
zager ez play guitars
Zager Custom Lights Strings
Zager custom strings are designed by Denny exclusively for his Guitars. We have customers using all brands and gauges of strings on our guitars with excellent results (Elixir, Martin, Fender, Gibson, D'addario) but these are the strings our customers seem to like the most on our guitars. Hand wound daily in our shop in Lincoln, Nebraska.
frets
Zager Soft Touch (Hand Filed) Frets
Denny hand files each fret one at a time on every guitar that leaves our shop. By filing the frets Denny achieves two important things. When sliding up and down the neck your fingers will no longer get irritated and sore and you won't suffer from what we call "String Bite" and overall finger fatigue. Secondly, when you file the frets by hand each fret will have the same uniform height. 9 times out of 10 when you have a buzzing string it has nothing to with your playing, it’s because you have a guitar with a fret that’s sitting away from the fret board hitting a string.
life time warranty
Lifetime Warranty
Our warranty is simple. Lifetime on all guitars. A quality guitar should be made to last a lifetime and if it doesn't it wasn't a quality guitar to begin with.

Zager Artists of the Month for October




See more artists

Reviews




San Antonio, Texas
6 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
The Zager plays much easier than my Martin and sounds as good (just different) at half the price!

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The best part about both Zager guitars I own is the ease of play. It's so much easier to form chords without having a fret buzz.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would have guessed this guitar to sell for $800.

How would you rate customer support?
I haven't needed customer support this time. When I bought my ZAD 20 OM I had a question and Dennis responded within 5 minutes. Zager support is first class.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I'm telling everyone what a great value Zager guitars are. Talk about bang for your buck!

Additional comments:
You could spend twice as much for a similar guitar and won't have a guitar that plays so easy.

<rjobe1@comcast.net>
Oceanside, California
6 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I had a 2,000.00 guild about 30 years ago so really no comparison except this one sounds and actually looks better given the price I payed. Easier to play just like the adds say.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Ease of play along with a great looking guitar. I do like the grover tuners that you normally get with the finer guitar.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
720.00

How would you rate customer support?
Fantastic. When I purchased the guitar through ebay, I asked about the soft case that came with the guitar and Dennis e-mailed me the information. He also substituted the soft case for a hard case which was way above and beyond what a person would expect.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
By all means. The guitar is way better than what's on the market for that price. I priced and compared all the top name guitars and low end guitar and this guitar is a great value for what you get. Don't drag your feet like I did. It really plays easy and a stunning looker.

Additional comments:
Thanks again to Dennis for answering all my e-mails. Not only did he answer them, they were answered within 4 hours or less. I can tell that this company cares about there customers and I will always be a loyal customer. What guitar on the market offers a life time warranty (that says it all).

<dzamler@drzamler.com>
Mesa, Arizona
7 months ago
Model: Parlor Size Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I love the full sound and more compact size.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Very easy to play, full rich sound.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$200.00 easy

How would you rate customer support?
Over the top, very quick and friendly.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I have already, I keep this one at my dental office and enjoy showing it to patients.

Additional comments:
Keep going!

<rkfettig@gmail.com>
Santa Ana, California
7 months ago
Model: Parlor Size Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
fit and finish is outstanding

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
the tone on this small body guitar is as good as gibsons B-25 I have had several if you do not know what a b-25 sounds like well you are missing out!

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
400.00

How would you rate customer support?
this is why I bought the guitar

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
yes..........fit and finish....tone......... .playability....

Additional comments:
this is for my son his first guitar and it had to be a good one . I buy and sell guitars on ebay, and have done so for 14 years , as well play the guitar 40 years now , and have played every guitar you can think of . bought a Zager what more can I say......

<jhaynes3@snet.net>
Sacramento, California
7 months ago
Model: Parlor Size Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This is the finest acoustic guitar I've owned. The value is astonishing for the price; it could sell for three times what they asked.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The smell.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1200, easily.

How would you rate customer support?
These guys are a textbook example of how to run a web business. The site has tons of info, the many reviews inspire confidence in the product, their guarantees relieve any potential buyer's remorse, the guitar itself is without flaw, and the various goodies they send with it make you feel loved.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I'd send anyone needing an acoustic guitar to Zager in a heartbeat.

Additional comments:
I've been playing for 45 years, have a home studio, and went with the "Zager Parlor" simply to use as a "knockabout". The quality, finish, workmanship and gestalt of this guitar is far more than I expected, and my expectations were high, given previous reviews.


Pasadena, Texas
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It is like playing a $1200 Martin for me.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
That I can play for hours and not be hurting so much.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1200-1200

How would you rate customer support?
Outstanding! Never had better customer service anywhere.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes! Already have, reason being....besides a great guitar, is the excellent customer service.


<clive@interacct.com.au>
Aurora, Illinois
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have numerous guitars - including Martins. The Zager sounds as good as any of these guitars. It has a neck shape like a Martin, and so is very easy to play.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I don't know... It looks great, sounds great, and is easy to play. Just the right size for me to handle (not too big).

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
It could easily be double the price.

How would you rate customer support?
Very good. Friendly and personal.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
It is simply a very good guitar to play and look at, at a very sensible price.


<bforeman2000@gmail.com>
Hialeah, Florida
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
For the last 12 years I have played a Gibson I had it set up so the action was really low. This guitar is ready to play when u get it. No adjustment needed. The sound is great so is the action.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I like the string spacing for fingerpicking The even,rich,tones. And it really does play easier on your fingers.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would say over 1200 based on finish quality and sound.

How would you rate customer support?
Excellent very personal touch. Not what u would experience elsewhere.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Definitely....... all the above reasons

Additional comments:
Good purchase fast shipping honest feedback. No risk great guitar.

<bill45.lydia54@q.com>
Peoria, Arizona
7 months ago

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This is by far the best guitar I've ever had my hands on. My first was 20 dollar Japanese box I got when I was in the navy in 1969. Nylon strings, bent neck.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Easy to play, great sound.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I really have no idea. The best guitar I ever owned was a low end Fender so I have nothing to compare this to.

How would you rate customer support?
You ask a question, you get an answer. No reason to expect any more than that.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would. This guitar makes me want to play.

Additional comments:
Keep it up. This guitar helps restore my faith in humanity. I don't want to get all "political" here, but the USA and the world has taken an ugly turn the past decade. High quality products like Zager makes, can only help us.

<mcdannfam@yahoo.com>
Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar is awesome. It plays very easy. Sounds amazing. It is gorgeous and would surpass any guitar i've owned. I haven't owned any crazy high dollar guitars...but why when you can play what i've got .....and it wasn't all that much!

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
honestly, i took advantage of the "bstock" model they had for about $20 off the normal price. They had stickers to show the "flaws." I couldn't see anything on this particular guitar in the pictures. I emailed Dennis about this guitar and he said that his dad is very picky and if he finds even a minor flaw, he will mark it down. Long story short, i got this guitar today and even with the sticker pointing to it, I can't find the issue its pointing to. I've seen guitars in stores with dings, scratches, etc. on them and still being sold for full price. This company is honest and awesome!

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Well the guitar is beautiful and sounds amazing. I was trying to compare with other brands of guitars and was easily in the mid $900's before getting to apples to apples product. But it would be hard to put the price on the customer service and extra care you receive. It's almost unbelievable but hasn't failed at all yet. THis is a no-brainer purchase. why buy elsewhere?

How would you rate customer support?
6 out of 5 stars

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Already have told 3 friends. Seeing their guarantee first hand, experiencing their customer service, all the extras that are included with the purchase, and i haven't even got to the guitar being ridiculously incredible to play and sounds amazing!

Additional comments:
210 W. Hefron Washington, IN 47201

<charleswjohnson@ymail.com>
Waco, Texas
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
this guitar is far above the other guitars i have had the sound is so rich and full and the strings feel so much better on my fingers

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
WOW thats a hard question because i love everything about it but i guess if i had to choose it would be thr quality of the sound and the ease of play

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
oh i would have to say well over a 15 hundred to 2 thousand

How would you rate customer support?
customer support if wonderful i did have a few questions before i bought mine and dennis jr answered all of my questions very-very quickly couldn't be more pleased

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
yes i would recommend this guitar to others i have already told so many of my friends how great this guitar isand if they ever buy a new guitar i told them to just not waste their time and just buy a zager.

Additional comments:
I just wanted to say that words just can't express how good this guitar is. the workmanship is awsome the case is really great.The sound of this guitar will just blow you away. I honestly do not think that there is a better guitar on the market at this time the price is fair the quality is amazing the waranty is very good . although i don't think you will ever have to use it. I know i will be purchasing their top model just as soon as i get better at playing. Thanks again Mr Zager for such a wonderful- amazing -awsome guitar!!!!!!!

<natickgolfer@rcn.com>
Corona, California
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have had Martins and the Zager is comparable if NOT superior for a much more reasonable price

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
There is no one particular favorite part. It plays and sounds incredible. The workmanship is fantastic and the response by the Zagers is incredible

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
well over $1200.00

How would you rate customer support?
Customer support on a scale od 1-10 is a 15

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Most definitely. I have recommended this company in the past and will continue to do so

Additional comments:
If something were to happen to this beautiful instrument I would definitely rep;ace her with another Zager. I am curious to see what the new flagship model sounds like. Can't imagine how much better because this one sounds and plays fantastic

<ceolnote@yahoo.com>
Durham, North Carolina
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar surpasses the sound of my Martin D-28 as well as it's play-ability. Action is very fine and the sound is bold and fat. I have a concert Crafter...while the action on this guitar is good....the Zager is a bit better and the sound is much better. The ZAD20CE is lighter in weight as well.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Favorite part? That's tough since the whole guitar has so much to offer. You can play without hand soreness and that's good, because you don't want to put the instrument down! I WILL be using this guitar on my next recording session.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
The sound, construction and play-ability of this guitar is equal to those guitars ranging from $1,700 to $2,200.

How would you rate customer support?
The customer support is second to none! It is so refreshing to experience customerservice like this...very rare these days.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I WILL be showing off this guitar at up coming jam sessions and concerts. Folks need to see this guitar...folks need to hear this guitar....and most importantly...folks need to play Zager guitars!

Additional comments:
I admit I was a little worried. But those reading this....throw your fears to the wind and try one of these guitars! You will be glad you did.

<eddlfree@gmail.com>
Cape Coral, Florida
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-50 OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Well, I have no old guitars. However, I did go to several guitar stores and looked at a few. I asked one of the staff to play a little for me so that I could get a feel for how it would sound. They really didn't want to be bothered. When I went to your website you directed me to the place where you played many songs. They were the songs that I hope to play. I especially liked the playing style. Thank you for the attention that you gave to me with the emails and the informative website. Left alone in my search, I was beginning to be discouraged. Thank you for telling me that many of the songs played were on the zad20om. I was hooked and now I have my very own zad20om guitar.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Wow, my favorite part of the guitar, is how it looks and feels. I can't stop smiling when I have it in my hands. This may sound frivolous, but I'm just beginning to learn how to play. I'm looking forward to your on-line lessons. If you will permit me, I'll stay in touch through all the lessons and will better answer this question later,

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Now you've got me. I searched youtube to hear dozens of guitars. The sounds I liked were waaaay to expensive, and when I checked the guitars I could afford, I really didn't like the way they sounded, so I didn't buy them. To answer your question, well over a $1200.

How would you rate customer support?
I guess I have answered this question earlier. If first time buyers like me, who want to get the right guitar the first time, they need to spend some time with you. I clicked the flashing box that said you were on line, and you were there. More importantly you answered about a dozen questions, and pointed me in the right direction. If you will allow me to explain a little about my career, it will tell you about customer service. As you may know, many people have had their moments in the sun. The good Lord made me really good at what at what I did. I was a manufacturing consultant, and one of my duties was to help my clients improve their customer service. For some, it allowed them to turn around their business, and stay in business. For others, it made them much more profitable. The old adage, "They don't care how much you know, until they know how much you care" will always make you successful. You took the time necessary for me to feel good about my decision. In my world, education is a transfer of knowledge, and doing something with that knowledge is a transfer of skills. I have the right guitar, now I need to learn how to play it. and,- you are still there for me. In my experience, the best rating for customer support is, YES! Superior customer support.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
As much as I can. Because I'm retired, my sphere of influence is limited. However, I have a friend who has one of those really expensive guitars, and I've heard him play it. I can't wait for him to get a load of MY ZAGER! I hope he'll give it back. I'll let you know how it goes.

Additional comments:
One final thought, by you spending time with me and answering my emails, and then pointing me in the right direction on your website to further inform me to make the right choice of guitar should put a smile on your face; I sure have one on my face. Thank you! 2525 still rocks. If you have additional questions, please do not hesitate to call, 820-332-0229. Best regards, Edd Freeman

<pwalker801@charter.net>
Downey, California
7 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
one of the best instruments for the money i have owned. good solid sound and construction, and the follow-up support has been exceptional so far. obviously they really care about pleasing customers. almost like having a friend in the business.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
sweet sound and finish and ease of play. i always wanted a nice guitar with a sunburst finish and now i have one.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$800 to $900. i was surprised it was much less.

How would you rate customer support?
so far it has been excellent. i had a couple questions about set-up and they were answered quickly. made me feel like i was their only customer.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
i would recommend the Zager instruments for three reasons . . . sound, ease of play, looks, cost and customer support. an especially sound investment for those on a tight budget.

Additional comments:
unlike many purchases, where the product immediately begins to depreciate in condition and value right after purchase, a good instrument usually holds, or increases in value and even improves in tonality and playability after years of use and being well cared for. the Zager guitars appear to fit into this category. my oldest grandson, who plays guitar, has already laid claim to it upon my demise. he always looks on the cheerful side of things! gus walker 801 8th Ave. SE Decatur, AL 35601

<Henryhirsch@yahoo.com>
Fontana, California
8 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar plays easier than any other Martin I tried at my local Guitar Center, regardless of price. And, the rich bass and sustain rival that of $2000 models

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
My evaluation after 3 months, in order: 1- Easy playability ( I've had to train myself to press the strings easier because I was used to my older Alvarez which was an exercise in finger strength). 2- sound, very rich with great bass response and uniform sustain across the spectrum. 3- Looks and materials; it has the fine detail, workmanship and materials of much more expensive guitars. Honestly, I don't understand the appeal of a Martin, unless you're willing to spend $3000 or more.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$2000 or more

How would you rate customer support?
10 out of 10. I design customer support programs for a living so I know a little bit about this topic. Denny responds to your emails within hours. There's no transfer to a "Customer Support" department. You communicate directly with Denny Jr. See my additional comments below...pretty amazing.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes - see my other comments.

Additional comments:
Why Zager customer service is second to none and why you owe it to yourself to try a Zager: * I ordered a Zager Parlor...thought I'd like the smaller size, played it for a few days and wasn't happy. Wanted to try a ZAD20. * Denny sent me a pre-paid return mailing label, no questions asked, and shipped my new ZAD20 immediately, BEFORE I returned my Parlor (now that's trusting your customer!) * My new ZAD20 arrived, but didn't seem to play as advertised * I described the problem to Denny via email and he ASKED ME to please return it because "something didn't sound right." Again, he supplied a pre-paid return label. * My new ZAD20 arrived and I've enjoyed it ever since * Oh, yea, and each guitar comes with an extra set of Martin strings, 5 Zager oversized picks, Zager t-shirt * I also purchased the case, which is top-notch. I highly recommend you do the same.


Elk Grove, California
8 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Compared to my D-15 Martin, there is no comparison. I thought that it was easy to play, but when I took the Zegar out of the case...wow... I am totally amazed!!

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Everything!! It is beautiful, the sound is rich, and the electronics are incrediable.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would estimate around $900 or more.

How would you rate customer support?
5 stars!!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
YES! I had to take this one around and show EVERYONE!! I love the way it plays and the sound!

Additional comments:
I AM TOTALLY SATISFIED!!!


Cincinnati, Ohio
8 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It sounds and plays as well as some of the more expensive Martins and Seagulls I've tried out. It had to sound as good or better than my 1977 Alvarez, unplugged, or I wouldnt buy it.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Actually - the color. I forfeited the "cut-away" option to get the sunburst. It has all the "parts" of an expesnive guitar w/o the cost.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1,000+

How would you rate customer support?
EXCELLENT!! Excellent customer support is extremely rare these days. In a very competitive business such as this, done well, it can pay off handsomely!! As a previous business onwer I speak from experience.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes! Quality, Warranty, Customer Service.

Additional comments:
I could have paid more for the "higher level" model, but I already have a regular blond acoustic. This one suits me just fine. If Willie Nelson can play a Martin with 2 holes in it, I can play a Zager with one and "hang" just fine.

<sgill515@yahoo.com>
Fayetteville, North Carolina
8 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
There is no comparison. The sound quality and the ease of play is first rate and superior to most guitars and even expensive guitars in stores.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The ease of play and the sound resonance. the sound stays with you even after you play.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
From $1200 to $1200 minimum.

How would you rate customer support?
Dennis was very responsive and helpful with our questions: the concern about hydration (here in Arizona) and the willingness to replace any guitar that is less than the highest quality.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes for all the reasons given. the sound it produces has to be heard to be believed.

Additional comments:
thanks again for all your help and assistance--this guitar is a phenomenon.

<otr6@yahoo.com>
Lakewood, Colorado
8 months ago
Model: ZAD-50 OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Sounds better than my Martin and every bit as good as my Yamaha.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Easy to play. The neck and action are perfect.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1000.00 +

How would you rate customer support?
I emailed Dennis Jr and 5 minutes later I had my answer.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I am telling everyone that will listen about Zager Guitars. Even non-players.

Additional comments:
Review of my new ZAD-20 OM: I have been playing for 30 years or more. That said, I consider myself an average player. I've always become discouraged with certain chords that I was unable to use without a fret buzz. I came across Zager guitars by accident online. I thought I'd try one since there was nothing to lose due to an outstanding return policy. The reviews are all so good I wondered if they were genuine. They are! My Zager arrived by UPS 3 or 4 days after my order. The first thing that I loved was the awsome hard shell case with the Zager name molded into it. Quality inside and out. As soon as I picked up the guitar I noticed the neck was different. The thickness and shape just felt right to me. It felt much more comfortable than any other guitar I've held. I don't know how they do it, but the strings are so easy to press I instantly became a better player. Now I play longer without sore fingers or a fatigued chord hand. My callouses on my finger tips have also softened and I have sensation in them again. It also stays in tune longer than my other guitars. I own several acoustic guitars including a Martin and Yamaha. In my humble opinion the Zager sounds better than the Martin and every bit as good as the Yamaha. I'll keep them as guitars I can keep in open C or other tunings. I had a question regarding my new Zager guitar so I emailed Dennis Zager Jr and he responded within 5 minutes with an appropriate response. I only wish I'd discovered Zager guitars sooner. I also received extra strings, several picks and a Zager Guitars T-shirt. This package could sell for $1200 or more. Thank you Zager family.