Denny Zager is a true guitar master
Newsweek Magazine
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series

ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series

In Stores: $3000+ Our Price: $2,195 Sale: $1,795

Sold out. Preorder now to lock in the sale price for January delivery.
Guarantee

30-day 100% money back guarantee that includes shipping fees both ways.

4.61 out of 5

Rated top 5% of guitars in USA 1700+ reviews
YellowPages perfect 5-star rating 64+ reviews
Productreviews.com 1500+ reviews
Sitejabber reviews 700+ reviews
Reseller Ratings 700+ reviews
Harmony Guitar reviews 1800+ reviews
Ultimate guitar reviews 900+ reviews
Ebay power seller 22 years 7,000+ reviews
National Viewpoint rating 13 years 100+ reviews
Better Business Bureau, A rating

60 years of playing, performing and teaching guitar has given Denny an advantage over the majority of guitar builders today. Denny understands the demands of the professional player because he is one. He discovered there are certain key elements that make a great guitar, and with that knowledge he created the Zager ZAD80 Series. Elements like solid wood construction, high quality hardware, a custom neck design that feels good in your hand, string spacing that allows you to move faster on the fretboard, that simultaneously prevents buzzes and rattles, combined with a special bracing system that produces one of the best sounds in the guitar industry today. Read more

Zager Pro Series guitars play a little easier and sound just a little more powerful than our regular series instruments.   The woods are aged longer.  The finish is applied thinner so the sound board moves half a millimeter more when the strings are hit providing a deeper bass response.  Each piece of abalone and pearl is laid by hand and in combination with gold grover tuners that “pop” to the eye on the red cedar finish.  Most customers buying our 80 Series are touring artists and veteran musicians coming from high level Martin, Taylor, Santa Cruz and Gibson.  Unlike our 20 and 50 Series guitars that use spruce and mahogany giving them a punchy bright character, the 80’s are constructed using East Indian rosewood and red cedar giving them a deeper, richer, more mellow response.

For 2016 Denny called his good friend Bob Fishman at Fishman Electronics (considered the best guitar electronics company in the world) and ordered the Fishman 60 Series electronics package that we’ve been using for 8 years now in the 80 Series.  The electronic transducer system and automatic tuner allow you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full blown electric.  The onboard equalization package provides infinite sound possibilities with a built in professional grade automatic tuner that tunes your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional methods.  When you’re tired of electric simply unplug and you’ll have the traditional sound of an acoustic.

Pros using the ZAD80CE Pro Series say it matches or betters $3000 instruments, but with easier playability and a lower price since you’re buying direct from our workshop in Lincoln, Nebraska. Be sure to read artist comments and magazine reviews on the 80 as it consistently rates in the top 5% of acoustics made world wide. 100% money back guarantee including shipping fees both ways. It’s a lifetime instrument so it comes with a lifetime warranty.  Truly a work of art with a stunning sound that will get better year after year.

  • Full size dreadnought the most popular guitar size in the world.
  • Solid wood construction sounds better every year as it ages.
  • Venetian cutaway box design allows you to slide down low into the box for easier playability.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 transducer  system allows you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full electric guitar.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 automatic tuner system tunes your guitar perfectly in seconds and if you’re a beginner actually trains your ear for perfect pitch.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 equalizer system gives you infinite sound possibilities allowing you to dial in the perfect sound.
  • Hand carved bracing for greater movement of the soundboard providing a richer sound.
  • Slim neck design feels natural in your hand making it easier to form chords.
  • Custom string spacing for greater speed and accuracy (and less rattles).
  • Zager soft touch fret design for less string bite and finger fatigue.
  • Adjustable truss rod to raise or lower action depending on your playing style.
  • Special ultra thin high gloss finish allows more movement of the body for deeper sound
  • Hand carved bone nut and saddle. (Found on predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Hand laid abalone inlay rosette with pearl fret markers.
  • Ivory binding detail and zipper stripe down back (Found in predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Genuine Grover tuning machines (best in the world).
  • 100% money back guarantee
  • Lifetime warranty

Videos

Features

guitar dimensions
Dreadnought Size Dimensions
Height: 41 inches
Box length: 20 inches
Waist: 11 inches
Widest bout: 15.5 inches
Depth: 4.75 inches
Scale length: 25.5 inches
guitar dimensions
Venetian Cutaway Style
A "Venetian Cutaway" is a guitar that has a section of the body "cut away" by the neck which makes it easier to slide your hand down low to reach chords near the sound hole. Denny braces the cutaways a little differently then his full box guitars so sound quality matches. If you’re a player that spends a lot of time on that part of the neck a cutaway box is invaluable.
guitar top cedar
Western Red Cedar Top
The most important part of an acoustic guitar is its top. The top acts like a speaker. When a string is plucked energy is transferred to the top and the top starts to move. Cedar is softer than spruce, and that softness translates into a sense of sonic warmth. Cedar guitars sound warmer, deeper and slightly richer. Used on only the highest quality acoustics in the world.
See full build sheet
guitar back sides rosewood
Indian Rosewood Back-sides
One of the most popular and traditional guitar woods of all time. Where mahogany lends itself to the midrange, rosewoods sonic profile is deeper in the low end. Not to take anything away from mahogany as many players will find it difficult to tell them apart, but the dedicated ear will notice a deeper, richer, sweeter tone coming from a rosewood guitar. Many players don’t know that cedar is one of the few woods that can outperform spruce when paired with rosewood which is why Denny uses a Western red cedar top with Indian rosewood back and sides on his 80 series guitars.
indian rosewood headstock
Indian Rosewood Headstock
Indian rosewood is commonly found on high-end guitars. This wood is heavier and more dense than mahogany and also is very stable and resonant. East Indian Rosewood is dark brown with sometimes purple-brown streaks giving a pleasant figure. The guitar head stock configuration is a registered trademark and is used under license from C.F. Martin & Co. Inc. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA.
guitar brace work
Zager Design (Hand Scalloped) Bracework
The technique of scalloping or shaving the braces can have a huge impact on the power and tone of an acoustic guitar. By shaving or reducing the thickness of the brace, it becomes more flexible and therefore lets the top move more freely. When done by a Master Luthier the brace maintains its structural integrity, while making the top more efficient. The result is faster attack, longer sustain, more bass, more power, and an overall improvement in the whole tone system.
guitar inlay
Full Abalone Inlay Inlay
Abalone inlay is found on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand one piece at a time, the color and translucence of each piece changes with different amounts of light. Not only does it add to the overall look of your guitar, but it also adds to the value. Our 900 Pro Series guitars have an inlay rosette around the sound hole in combination with inlay around the entire face as well as small cross fret markers going up the fret board
guitar fret crosses
Pearl Cross Fret-markers
Used on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand on the fret board one piece at a time. It's a very tedious, time consuming process but the results are breathtaking
Zipper Stripe Back-detail
Laid by hand one piece at a time. Adds to the overall beauty and sets off the color of the wood. Found on only the highest quality guitars in the world.
high gloss finish
High Gloss Finish
High-gloss finish provides excellent protection but at the same time is extremely light and elastic. This is a crucial point in both the sound of the guitar and its ability to age—which is what makes a guitar sound better year after year. A thick finish muffles a guitar's vibration and blocks aging.
guitar truss
Custom Adjustment Setting Truss-rod
Denny designs his guitars with a truss rod adjustment setting that allows you to dial in your guitar to your particular playing style. In this way if you're a heavy handed player you can set the action higher so you can "get on it" a little for more power, and if you're lighter handed touch player you can dial in the action low so you can move faster and play longer with less fatigue.
guitar transducer
Genuine Fishman Built-in-transducer
Fishman transducers are the highest quality transducers used in acoustic guitars today. A transducer is an amplification device placed under the saddle which allows you to plug into an amplifier and play an acoustic guitar like an electric guitar. This is all run by an on-board electronics package and equalizer that allows you to control the sound. A transducer properly installed by a pro luthier will bring out the bass response and rich ambiance of your guitar's wood. Done improperly your guitar will sound flat and have uneven tone quality.
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-automatic-tuner
Ask any pro who makes the finest guitar electronics systems in the world and 9 out of 10 will say Fishman. An electronic tuner allows you to tune your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional tuning methods. Simply hit a string and the LCD indicator guides you into perfect pitch. A red and green light instantly lets you know when the tune is dead on. This is a very important tool for the new player who is trying to develop and train their ear for perfect pitch. It's also helps the professional player who wants to get in perfect tune fas
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-equalizer
Fishman equalizers are the highest quality equalizers used in acoustic guitars today. The equalizer is an electronic unit that controls the sound and volume when plugged into an amplifier or PA system. There are adjustments for highs, mids, lows, and presence. Fishman EQ's are used exclusively on high end acoustics by artists such as Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, Alan Jackson and Aerosmith to name just a few.
guitar grover gears gold
Genuine Grover (gold) Tuning-machines
Genuine Grover sealed tuning machines are found on only the finest guitars made. Look at tuners on $2500+ acoustics and you will see the majority have "Grovers." Unlike open gear tuners where the tuning mechanism is exposed, Grover sealed tuners contain a lubricant that keep the tuning mechanism sealed air-tight so the gears turn smooth and continue to for the life of your instrument. Lifetime warranty. If you have a tuner go bad we'll replace it free of charge for life.
guitar nut
Bone Hand Carved Nut
Denny hand carves his nuts from bone for each guitar so the strings are set lower with custom spacing. Lower string heights make it easier to press down to form chords and it also increases finger speed. Custom spacing allows you to move faster with less buzzes, mutes, and rattles because you’re no longer bumping adjacent strings. Custom string spacing makes it easier for all hands sizes big and small. Lifetime warranty. Break a nut and we'll replace it free of charge for life
guitar saddle
Tusq Hand Carved Saddle
Denny hand carves each saddle for each individual guitar. Denny also adjusts the intonation settings to bring the guitar harmonically in balance with itself. This not only makes your guitar easier to play, but it also makes it sound more powerful. Customers say our guitars fall into tune easier and stay in tune longer...this is one of the reasons why. Denny uses only genuine "Tusq" brand saddles on his guitars which you generally only find on higher dollar acoustics . Lifetime warranty. Break a saddle and we'll replace it free of charge for life.
zager ez play guitars
Zager Custom Lights Strings
Zager custom strings are designed by Denny exclusively for his Guitars. We have customers using all brands and gauges of strings on our guitars with excellent results (Elixir, Martin, Fender, Gibson, D'addario) but these are the strings our customers seem to like the most on our guitars. Hand wound daily in our shop in Lincoln, Nebraska.
frets
Zager Soft Touch (Hand Filed) Frets
Denny hand files each fret one at a time on every guitar that leaves our shop. By filing the frets Denny achieves two important things. When sliding up and down the neck your fingers will no longer get irritated and sore and you won't suffer from what we call "String Bite" and overall finger fatigue. Secondly, when you file the frets by hand each fret will have the same uniform height. 9 times out of 10 when you have a buzzing string it has nothing to with your playing, it’s because you have a guitar with a fret that’s sitting away from the fret board hitting a string.
life time warranty
Lifetime Warranty
Our warranty is simple. Lifetime on all guitars. A quality guitar should be made to last a lifetime and if it doesn't it wasn't a quality guitar to begin with.

Zager Artists of the Month for October




See more artists

Reviews



<kodiak@npgcable.com>
Fort Wayne, Indiana
11 months ago

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This is the easiest guitar I've ever played!! The action is incredibly low and the string spacing keeps me from accidentally touching the other strings. i love playing it! I have had it for 5 years and have never been able to match its playability.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Once again its super easy to play.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
My particular model it would guess around $700.

How would you rate customer support?
The best customer support. I had free shipping. Life time warranty. I couldn't go wrong buying this guitar, even if I hadn't heard of this brand before. My emails have all ben answered promptly and courteously.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Again I would recommend this guitar to anyone, new and seasoned players. The action and tone are great.

Additional comments:
Thanks--you guys are great

<jwbarrett@tds.net>
St. Paul, Minnesota
11 months ago
Model: Parlor Size Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
There is no comparison to a Zager. I went to a local music store to find a strap and I shared with owner the ease of playing the Zager. He began showing me his line of guitars, saying that his had the same features for less money, then asked if he could try mine. He began playing for a few miuutes then handed it back saying, "You keep this guitar, honey, you,ve got a good one."

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
In order, my favorite part of the Parlor is--well, I can't decide -- the size, the craftsmanship, the sound, or the way the strings rarely need tuning, but probably the pride I feel in owning and "playing" such a quality instrument.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I don't have enough experience to make a price comparison, but my impression is that I certainly found a bargain!

How would you rate customer support?
Customer support has beeb top notch. The most outstanding feature of the Zager customer service is the personal touch I have felt.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I will and have already recommended the Zager based on the pleasure I am experiencing with my Zager Parlor mahogany, the quality craftsmanship, the comparative ease of playing, the ease of the online purchase and someday, the sound of the music coming from it.

Additional comments:
Thanks to Dennis Zager, the designer and craftsmam, and to Dennis, Jr., Jill and anyone else who makes this business so pleasant.

<schlegel@hughes.net>
Carrollton, Texas
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I feel the Zager plays easier, the fit and finish is awsome. The dreadnot body produces a great sound, even with out using a amp, however I do use my amp at gigs. I don't know why, but it is easier to play.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The playability, fit and finish looks great, and price.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Based on my looking around here at home, I would say $1200.00

How would you rate customer support?
Wonderful, courtious, and quick response. thank you

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes. I already have. If I like a product, I am not bashful about spreading the word. I am 70 years old, and have been in retail all my working years. A happy customer is the best advertisement.

Additional comments:
I am enjoying playing more, and with a great guitar it makes it so much fun. I just lost my wife to a 4 year battle with lung cancer. Your guitar has made those caregiving days more bareable. Now we are playing 6 gigs per month for Mo. Veterans Home, Senior center, and a nursing home. It's lots of fun, and a worthy cause.

<darshardar@yahoo.com>
Fort Worth, Texas
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Its like comparing a burro with a race horse. The race horse of course being the Zager.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Since I am a beginner, and still not knowing the difference between the sound of the cords or anything else, my favorite part of the guitar is it's appearance and the fact that it has an auto tuner.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Just looking at the guitar I would guess it would be above my price range.

How would you rate customer support?
I just received my guitar today, 7-29-11, and to date the customer service has been first rate. Couldn't ask for more.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would recommend,and will recommend, this guitar to any and everyone who is looking for a fine guitar which also looks like a fine work of art.



Akron, Ohio
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Great, it plays and sounds better than most Martins.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The price

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$2,000

How would you rate customer support?
5 Star!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
absolutly. Plays great, sounds great, and cheap. Not cheaply made.


<dwladaver@aol.com>
Westminster, Colorado
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This is a superior guitar, and not only has the best sound I have ever heard, is the easiest to play. It makes me sound better than I am.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I have no one favorite part. Tied for first is the beautiful sound it makes, the ease of playing, especially the more complex chords, and the fantastic look of the instrument.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$3000+

How would you rate customer support?
First rate. The response is so quick I feel like I am in a conversation with the Zager people, even though I am in Florida and they are in Nebraska.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
The ease of playing Zager guitars allows you to improve your playing ability, because the action is so player-friendly. And the sound is almost heavenly.

Additional comments:
When I needed another guitar I never considered any other brand, nor did I go to a music store and try any guitars. I just went to Zager.

<vbug01@comcast.net>
Green Bay, Wisconsin
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-50 OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I will not purchase another brand of guitar.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The sound and playability are far better than the higher dollars guitars made by another manufacturer that I regularly play with.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
At least twice as much as they cost.

How would you rate customer support?
200%!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes because you will not find a better playing or better sounding guitar or even quality for no where near the cost of a zager.

Additional comments:
Thanks again for taking enough pride to sell and support such a fine guitar!


Tempe, Arizona
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Easier to compress the strings and form cords. I have large fingers, so the spacing is great.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Over all look and sound. I really like the built in tuner.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
In the $1000's.

How would you rate customer support?
110%

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Already have.

Additional comments:
I loaned my Zager to a friend who is playing with an up and coming artist Zhen, who will be playing at the Monterey Reggae Festival July 30 and 31, 2011. They (members of the band) love it so much their taking it with them to the festival. Looks like we're going to have a fight on our hands or I'm going to have to buy another Zager!

<steven.shorkey@gmail.com>
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Easily the most playable and best sounding guitar I've owned. To be fair, it is also the most expensive guitar I've owned, so comparing it to my others is really no contest. But that is not to say it is very expensive. It is a great price for the quality of guitar you get. It easily stands up against far more expensive guitars I've played.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The sound, to be sure, but also the looks. It is just a great looking guitar. Now that I've been playing it daily for about 15 months, the sound is opening up and it just keeps sounding better.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
If I didn't know better, I'd put it in the range of $3-4,000 guitars.

How would you rate customer support?
Zager Guitars wouldn't be Zager Guitars without Dennis Jr. The customer support is tremendous.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I have recommeded it to many other guitarists. Many times I don't have to say a thing after the borrow it and play it for a bit, they automatically say they want one.

Additional comments:
I've read many reviews were a Zager owner states that a friend that owns a high-end Martin guitar plays their Zager and then says that the Zager (especially the ZADCE80) plays better than their Martin. While I wasn't necessarily skeptical, I didn't think it would ever happen to me. Then my son's friend, who is a talented acoustic guitarist and who recently bought a high-end acoustic-electric Martin, played my ZADCE80 and loved it and actually said he thought it sounded better and played easier than his Martin. How about that?! Now he likes to grab it and play a bit whenever he is at the house.

<ilbcnu13@aol.com>
Huntsville, Alabama
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Black

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It plays great, stays in tune, the tuner onboard works great by the way, I hear all kinds of comments re how great my guitar sounds out front, I love that the most.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I feel I can count on it, you have to be a musician to understand what I am saying, you just get to know the guitar, and I know mine.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
800-1000

How would you rate customer support?
Never used it but this first contact is very impressive

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes for the same reasons above not to mention value for the dollar

Additional comments:
Adrian Lizotte 8606 Lydia Lane, Cicero, NY 13039

<ilbcnu13@aol.com>
Boston, Massachusetts
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-20E Black

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It plays great, stays in tune, the tuner onboard works great by the way, I hear all kinds of comments re how great my guitar sounds out front, I love that the most.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I feel I can count on it, you have to be a musician to understand what I am saying, you just get to know the guitar, and I know mine.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
800-1000

How would you rate customer support?
Never used it but this first contact is very impressive

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes for the same reasons above not to mention value for the dollar

Additional comments:
Adrian Lizotte 86906 Lydia Lane, Cicero, NY 13039

<mark.ayers.sr@gmail.com>
Buffalo, New York
11 months ago
Model: Parlor Size Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
My Zager Parlor Mahogany plays as well as guitars in the $1000.00 range and actually to get the same bass response and projection I'd be playing a guitar over $2000.00. I have a Takamine G series and while I rally like it, it has a much brighter sound and not close in the bass response. I have played over 40 different guitars at a local store of a national guitar chain and this guitar surpasses most of them in sound quality to me. The play-ability too is so much better.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
First of all what's not to like. The sound quality, the way this guitar projects. The solid wood mahogany gives this Zager Parlor a real rich deep sound that is not well matched in lesser quality guitars. I bought it because of the EZ play feature but fell in love with he sound quality. The way the sound resonates and fills my body as I play

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Based on the quality sound this guitar produces I'd say at least $1200.00 based on cpmparison to the ones I have played at the store

How would you rate customer support?
World class, a rare asset that sets Zagar guitar apart from many companies no matter the industry. I have had some questions and Dennis has been quick to respond and make sure all is well.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes. The sound quality for the price, the ease of play and the beauty plus quality of the guitar.

Additional comments:
I picked this guitar up used and even so I am still being treated as if I am the original owner.

<mojm@aol.com>
Lexington-Fayette, Kentucky
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Mostly been a rocker with a Fender Strat, but always loved the full sound of the full dread nought size. Played many, but they never felt right or were too rough on my calloused fingers, so I never bought one thinking none were right for me.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Plural answer OK? Since purchase I've been playing it like my Strat with flat pick and my self-styled finger picking. The 20CE plays just as well, BUT tuning with the Grover heads is makes staying in tune a breeze, though the only time I really need to is when I put on new strings. Love the on-board tuner and equil...

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
If I saw a price tag of, say, $1200-2000, I'd probably say, 'What's not to love?' After all, the only expense I put into this guitar was $18.00 for a strat button on the neck.

How would you rate customer support?
A+++ I feel like I'm emailing a friend

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes - playing is believing

Additional comments:
Next week, I'm going to 'band camp' actually National Guitar Workshop (5 days) for the 4th year,working on serious finger picking for 2-3 years now and I'm bringing this guitar with me to a class (2 of the days)with David Bromberg. Great neck and string spacing.

<jonborer@sbcglobal.net>
Hayward, California
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have never owned a quality guitar before the purchase of my Zager. The ease with which it plays and the sound it produces keep me interested and motivated. I am a novice hand drummer and my drums rarely get used anymore....the guys I jam with don't dig it but I am having fun.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
As mentioned, the guitar looks and sounds fantastic but I really dig the uniqueness of this instrument. The Zager may be popular elsewhere but I haven't run across them in my neighborhood. I love surprising people with this awesome American made treasure.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I am no aficionado but to me this rivals the $2000 guitars that I have strummed in the store. It is much more handsome then pricier guitars.

How would you rate customer support?
Your service is top notch. I have always received prompt and courteous responses.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I don't often make large purchases sight unseen. I am lucky, I have done it twice, my Zager and my dog, both turned out beautifully. I have already recommended your product to numerous people and will continue to do so.

Additional comments:
jon borer 8740 e banner ridge dr. anaheim, ca. 92808

<jonborer@sbcglobal.net>
Ontario, California
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have never owned a quality guitar before the purchase of my Zager. The ease with which it plays and the sound it produces keep me interested and motivated. I am a novice hand drummer and my drums rarely get used anymore....the guys I jam with don't dig it but I am having fun.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
As mentioned, the guitar looks and sounds fantastic but I really dig the uniqueness of this instrument. The Zager may be popular elsewhere but I haven't run across them in my neighborhood. I love surprising people with this awesome American made treasure.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I am no aficionado but to me this rivals the $2000 guitars that I have strummed in the store. It is much more handsome then pricier guitars.

How would you rate customer support?
Your service is top notch. I have always received prompt and courteous responses.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I don't often make large purchases sight unseen. I am lucky, I have done it twice, my Zager and my dog, both turned out beautifully. I have already recommended your product to numerous people and will continue to do so.


<dbarnes@anomaly.com>
Norfolk, Virginia
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Black

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
No previous guitars to compare it to, but I'm thrilled with it. Wish my playing lived up to it, but I'm getting there.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I love the tone itself. I love the quality construction that is apparent, even to someone relatively new to guitars. And I love your company's integrity and personal commitment to its customers.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$800

How would you rate customer support?
Consistently excellent.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely. I'm a living example of a novice player that feels encouraged (rather than discouraged) to play every time I pick it up. There is an ease of playing and quality sound that makes every practice session a treat.


<amyricekc@yahoo.com>
Springfield, Illinois
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I was/am a classacal guitar player, used to nylon strings. I needed a steel string guitar for some special music and a friend recommended a Zager as a transition guitar. I bought my Zager ZAD 20 OM several years ago and it is my favorite acoustic guitar. I have since acquired several other nice acoustic guitars including a Breedlove,a Dean, and a Larrivee acoustic electric. I am now going to purchase a Zager acoustic electric as I am playing longer gids and appreciate the ease of playing plus the sweet tone of Zager guitars.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I love the ease of playing Zager guitars, and the sweet tone-- almost piano like at times.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1,000-$2,000

How would you rate customer support?
Excellent

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I have recommended Zager to others. You can play them for long periods without fatigue and they look and sound great plugged or unplugged.


<donrjohnson@digitalpassage.com>
Washington, District of Columbia
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Plays as easy as my D-28 that has perfect action.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Easy play, good quality built.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1200-$2000

How would you rate customer support?
The support from this company is out of this world. They do what they say they will do and more. They are always giving me something free.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
If I were buying one guitar it would be a Zager. Quality and service are second to none.

Additional comments:
I have three Zager guitars of differant models each is of great quality. They sound differant due to size and model but, all are great guitars with the best action. You might not believe all the reviews but, let me tell you it is not hype. Contact me I will tell you about how good Denny and Dennis Zager are to their customers. Best price on strings and best quality trings I have found. Fast shipping. Your guitar will not sit in a hot truck for days. Two days from shipping and you are playing it.


Chicago, Illinois
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I played a number of guitars in the the $2000-3000 range. This one easily matches those. The only guitar I tried that was about equal was $2300 without electronics; and I did not find one that I thought was distinctly better until I tried one from a small luthier that cost $5200. I loved this guitar so much that I decisded to sell my Martin D-21 (with Brazilian rosewood back and sides) that I had played for over 35 years. Brand new, my ZAD80CE had much better sound than the D-21 with thousands of hours of playing on it. And it was so much easier to play! I was able to sell the D-21 for more than twice what I paid for the ZAD80CE.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I love the playability and the sound. Great, even volume from bass through treble. Lovely tone. The ZAD80 is much easier to play than the Martin D-21 I played for 35 years.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
If I walked into a guitar or music store and tried this guitar without knowing anything about it, I would guess that its retail price was $1900-2300. This guitar is really a great value, bringing wonderful quality to those who might avoid $2000 guitars.

How would you rate customer support?
Superb. Friendly, prompt, and eager to make it a pleasant experience, almost like being in a small, personal luthier's shop.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I heartily recommend Zager guitars! While it can seem a little odd to try a guitar without playing it first, the no-questions-asked-we'll-pay-the-return-shipping-if-you-don't-like-it policy makes this a true no risk way of getting wonderful instruments at a great price.

Additional comments:
I play for friends, including a retired music professor, Charlie. Charlie never commented on my Martin or my Guild 12-string, but the first time he saw and listened to my ZAD80CE he commented on both the appearance and sound quality.

<swift_eddie@yahoo.com>
Springfield, Illinois
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar is set up to play with much less effort. I was able to play chords on it on my first try whereas on my older guitar, I often muffled adjoining strings on these chords.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Its ease of playing, but it looks beautiful, too.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$800 - $1,200

How would you rate customer support?
Excellent. Even prior to the purchase, Dennis Zager, Jr., was patient and kind enough to answer a whole host of questions that I had. Once I decided to buy the instrument, I asked that its shipping be delayed as I was going to be out of town. This was not a problem, and everything took place as arranged.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely. After struggling as a beginner to play certain chords and complete exercises associated with lessons, the ease of executing on the Zager guitar was immediately apparent.

Additional comments:
Upon receiving the guitar, I began to try certain chords that were problematic for me on my older guitar, and I was able to play them clearly on my first try. The guitar was almost completely in tune right out of the box; I had to adjust strings 4, 5, and 6 minimally. Strings 1, 2, and 3 were dead-on. I emailed Dennis Zager, Jr., to advise him that I recieved the guitar and how excited I was once I got my hands on this beautiful instrument. In that email, I told him that I would be sure to advise anyone whom I knew that was interested in buying a guitar to check out the Zager Guitars on the web.