Denny Zager is a true guitar master
Newsweek Magazine
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series
ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series

ZAD80CE Solid Cedar/Rosewood Acoustic Electric Pro Series

In Stores: $3000+ Our Price: $2,195 Sale: $1,795

Sold out. Preorder now to lock in the sale price for January delivery.
Guarantee

30-day 100% money back guarantee that includes shipping fees both ways.

4.61 out of 5

Rated top 5% of guitars in USA 1700+ reviews
YellowPages perfect 5-star rating 64+ reviews
Productreviews.com 1500+ reviews
Sitejabber reviews 700+ reviews
Reseller Ratings 700+ reviews
Harmony Guitar reviews 1800+ reviews
Ultimate guitar reviews 900+ reviews
Ebay power seller 22 years 7,000+ reviews
National Viewpoint rating 13 years 100+ reviews
Better Business Bureau, A rating

60 years of playing, performing and teaching guitar has given Denny an advantage over the majority of guitar builders today. Denny understands the demands of the professional player because he is one. He discovered there are certain key elements that make a great guitar, and with that knowledge he created the Zager ZAD80 Series. Elements like solid wood construction, high quality hardware, a custom neck design that feels good in your hand, string spacing that allows you to move faster on the fretboard, that simultaneously prevents buzzes and rattles, combined with a special bracing system that produces one of the best sounds in the guitar industry today. Read more

Zager Pro Series guitars play a little easier and sound just a little more powerful than our regular series instruments.   The woods are aged longer.  The finish is applied thinner so the sound board moves half a millimeter more when the strings are hit providing a deeper bass response.  Each piece of abalone and pearl is laid by hand and in combination with gold grover tuners that “pop” to the eye on the red cedar finish.  Most customers buying our 80 Series are touring artists and veteran musicians coming from high level Martin, Taylor, Santa Cruz and Gibson.  Unlike our 20 and 50 Series guitars that use spruce and mahogany giving them a punchy bright character, the 80’s are constructed using East Indian rosewood and red cedar giving them a deeper, richer, more mellow response.

For 2016 Denny called his good friend Bob Fishman at Fishman Electronics (considered the best guitar electronics company in the world) and ordered the Fishman 60 Series electronics package that we’ve been using for 8 years now in the 80 Series.  The electronic transducer system and automatic tuner allow you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full blown electric.  The onboard equalization package provides infinite sound possibilities with a built in professional grade automatic tuner that tunes your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional methods.  When you’re tired of electric simply unplug and you’ll have the traditional sound of an acoustic.

Pros using the ZAD80CE Pro Series say it matches or betters $3000 instruments, but with easier playability and a lower price since you’re buying direct from our workshop in Lincoln, Nebraska. Be sure to read artist comments and magazine reviews on the 80 as it consistently rates in the top 5% of acoustics made world wide. 100% money back guarantee including shipping fees both ways. It’s a lifetime instrument so it comes with a lifetime warranty.  Truly a work of art with a stunning sound that will get better year after year.

  • Full size dreadnought the most popular guitar size in the world.
  • Solid wood construction sounds better every year as it ages.
  • Venetian cutaway box design allows you to slide down low into the box for easier playability.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 transducer  system allows you to plug into any amplifier or PA system and play it like a full electric guitar.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 automatic tuner system tunes your guitar perfectly in seconds and if you’re a beginner actually trains your ear for perfect pitch.
  • Built in genuine Fishman 60 equalizer system gives you infinite sound possibilities allowing you to dial in the perfect sound.
  • Hand carved bracing for greater movement of the soundboard providing a richer sound.
  • Slim neck design feels natural in your hand making it easier to form chords.
  • Custom string spacing for greater speed and accuracy (and less rattles).
  • Zager soft touch fret design for less string bite and finger fatigue.
  • Adjustable truss rod to raise or lower action depending on your playing style.
  • Special ultra thin high gloss finish allows more movement of the body for deeper sound
  • Hand carved bone nut and saddle. (Found on predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Hand laid abalone inlay rosette with pearl fret markers.
  • Ivory binding detail and zipper stripe down back (Found in predominantly $1500+ guitars).
  • Genuine Grover tuning machines (best in the world).
  • 100% money back guarantee
  • Lifetime warranty

Videos

Features

guitar dimensions
Dreadnought Size Dimensions
Height: 41 inches
Box length: 20 inches
Waist: 11 inches
Widest bout: 15.5 inches
Depth: 4.75 inches
Scale length: 25.5 inches
guitar dimensions
Venetian Cutaway Style
A "Venetian Cutaway" is a guitar that has a section of the body "cut away" by the neck which makes it easier to slide your hand down low to reach chords near the sound hole. Denny braces the cutaways a little differently then his full box guitars so sound quality matches. If you’re a player that spends a lot of time on that part of the neck a cutaway box is invaluable.
guitar top cedar
Western Red Cedar Top
The most important part of an acoustic guitar is its top. The top acts like a speaker. When a string is plucked energy is transferred to the top and the top starts to move. Cedar is softer than spruce, and that softness translates into a sense of sonic warmth. Cedar guitars sound warmer, deeper and slightly richer. Used on only the highest quality acoustics in the world.
See full build sheet
guitar back sides rosewood
Indian Rosewood Back-sides
One of the most popular and traditional guitar woods of all time. Where mahogany lends itself to the midrange, rosewoods sonic profile is deeper in the low end. Not to take anything away from mahogany as many players will find it difficult to tell them apart, but the dedicated ear will notice a deeper, richer, sweeter tone coming from a rosewood guitar. Many players don’t know that cedar is one of the few woods that can outperform spruce when paired with rosewood which is why Denny uses a Western red cedar top with Indian rosewood back and sides on his 80 series guitars.
indian rosewood headstock
Indian Rosewood Headstock
Indian rosewood is commonly found on high-end guitars. This wood is heavier and more dense than mahogany and also is very stable and resonant. East Indian Rosewood is dark brown with sometimes purple-brown streaks giving a pleasant figure. The guitar head stock configuration is a registered trademark and is used under license from C.F. Martin & Co. Inc. of Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA.
guitar brace work
Zager Design (Hand Scalloped) Bracework
The technique of scalloping or shaving the braces can have a huge impact on the power and tone of an acoustic guitar. By shaving or reducing the thickness of the brace, it becomes more flexible and therefore lets the top move more freely. When done by a Master Luthier the brace maintains its structural integrity, while making the top more efficient. The result is faster attack, longer sustain, more bass, more power, and an overall improvement in the whole tone system.
guitar inlay
Full Abalone Inlay Inlay
Abalone inlay is found on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand one piece at a time, the color and translucence of each piece changes with different amounts of light. Not only does it add to the overall look of your guitar, but it also adds to the value. Our 900 Pro Series guitars have an inlay rosette around the sound hole in combination with inlay around the entire face as well as small cross fret markers going up the fret board
guitar fret crosses
Pearl Cross Fret-markers
Used on only the highest quality guitars. Laid by hand on the fret board one piece at a time. It's a very tedious, time consuming process but the results are breathtaking
Zipper Stripe Back-detail
Laid by hand one piece at a time. Adds to the overall beauty and sets off the color of the wood. Found on only the highest quality guitars in the world.
high gloss finish
High Gloss Finish
High-gloss finish provides excellent protection but at the same time is extremely light and elastic. This is a crucial point in both the sound of the guitar and its ability to age—which is what makes a guitar sound better year after year. A thick finish muffles a guitar's vibration and blocks aging.
guitar truss
Custom Adjustment Setting Truss-rod
Denny designs his guitars with a truss rod adjustment setting that allows you to dial in your guitar to your particular playing style. In this way if you're a heavy handed player you can set the action higher so you can "get on it" a little for more power, and if you're lighter handed touch player you can dial in the action low so you can move faster and play longer with less fatigue.
guitar transducer
Genuine Fishman Built-in-transducer
Fishman transducers are the highest quality transducers used in acoustic guitars today. A transducer is an amplification device placed under the saddle which allows you to plug into an amplifier and play an acoustic guitar like an electric guitar. This is all run by an on-board electronics package and equalizer that allows you to control the sound. A transducer properly installed by a pro luthier will bring out the bass response and rich ambiance of your guitar's wood. Done improperly your guitar will sound flat and have uneven tone quality.
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-automatic-tuner
Ask any pro who makes the finest guitar electronics systems in the world and 9 out of 10 will say Fishman. An electronic tuner allows you to tune your guitar in a fraction of the time it takes using conventional tuning methods. Simply hit a string and the LCD indicator guides you into perfect pitch. A red and green light instantly lets you know when the tune is dead on. This is a very important tool for the new player who is trying to develop and train their ear for perfect pitch. It's also helps the professional player who wants to get in perfect tune fas
Guitar Presys
Genuine Fishman Built-in-equalizer
Fishman equalizers are the highest quality equalizers used in acoustic guitars today. The equalizer is an electronic unit that controls the sound and volume when plugged into an amplifier or PA system. There are adjustments for highs, mids, lows, and presence. Fishman EQ's are used exclusively on high end acoustics by artists such as Bob Dylan, Paul McCartney, Alan Jackson and Aerosmith to name just a few.
guitar grover gears gold
Genuine Grover (gold) Tuning-machines
Genuine Grover sealed tuning machines are found on only the finest guitars made. Look at tuners on $2500+ acoustics and you will see the majority have "Grovers." Unlike open gear tuners where the tuning mechanism is exposed, Grover sealed tuners contain a lubricant that keep the tuning mechanism sealed air-tight so the gears turn smooth and continue to for the life of your instrument. Lifetime warranty. If you have a tuner go bad we'll replace it free of charge for life.
guitar nut
Bone Hand Carved Nut
Denny hand carves his nuts from bone for each guitar so the strings are set lower with custom spacing. Lower string heights make it easier to press down to form chords and it also increases finger speed. Custom spacing allows you to move faster with less buzzes, mutes, and rattles because you’re no longer bumping adjacent strings. Custom string spacing makes it easier for all hands sizes big and small. Lifetime warranty. Break a nut and we'll replace it free of charge for life
guitar saddle
Tusq Hand Carved Saddle
Denny hand carves each saddle for each individual guitar. Denny also adjusts the intonation settings to bring the guitar harmonically in balance with itself. This not only makes your guitar easier to play, but it also makes it sound more powerful. Customers say our guitars fall into tune easier and stay in tune longer...this is one of the reasons why. Denny uses only genuine "Tusq" brand saddles on his guitars which you generally only find on higher dollar acoustics . Lifetime warranty. Break a saddle and we'll replace it free of charge for life.
zager ez play guitars
Zager Custom Lights Strings
Zager custom strings are designed by Denny exclusively for his Guitars. We have customers using all brands and gauges of strings on our guitars with excellent results (Elixir, Martin, Fender, Gibson, D'addario) but these are the strings our customers seem to like the most on our guitars. Hand wound daily in our shop in Lincoln, Nebraska.
frets
Zager Soft Touch (Hand Filed) Frets
Denny hand files each fret one at a time on every guitar that leaves our shop. By filing the frets Denny achieves two important things. When sliding up and down the neck your fingers will no longer get irritated and sore and you won't suffer from what we call "String Bite" and overall finger fatigue. Secondly, when you file the frets by hand each fret will have the same uniform height. 9 times out of 10 when you have a buzzing string it has nothing to with your playing, it’s because you have a guitar with a fret that’s sitting away from the fret board hitting a string.
life time warranty
Lifetime Warranty
Our warranty is simple. Lifetime on all guitars. A quality guitar should be made to last a lifetime and if it doesn't it wasn't a quality guitar to begin with.

Zager Artists of the Month for October




See more artists

Reviews



<raybunch@infostations.com>
Austin, Texas
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-50 OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I currently play a 000 rosewood guitar and a martin d-18. The Zad 20 is equivalent to the martin and a little less bass than the 000. The quality is much better than the lower priced martins I have played. Fit and finish is about the same as the 2000 to 2200 martins.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Being a professional antique furniture repairman. I appreciate the quality of the joinery and the setup. The finish is nice but uses modern materials so it won't approach the finish on older guitars.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Probably in the 1000 to 1200 price range.

How would you rate customer support?
I purchased my Zager used although it had never been played and still had the film cover on the top so I have had no experience with customer support. I expect that I will have some contact with them when I purchase an 80 model.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
This guitar is a good buy and it comes with an excellent setup. Other guitars I have had all came from the maker requiring a 100 to 200 setup charge from a local luthier.


<Twoponyranch@yahoo.com>
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
11 months ago
Model: Parlor Size Mahogany

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I've had an Ovation, Epiphone, Aria, and Guilds for acoustics, Fender, Gretch, and G&L for electrics. The Ovation was my favorite acoustic for ease of play, and the Guild is a vintage Westerly mahogany dreadnought which has a big deep voice. The Zager Parlor has an even lighter touch than the Ovation, almost approaching that of a good electric right out of the box. I tweaked it a little more with a very slight neck adjustment and removed a shim that was under the saddle. I emphasize that the neck adjustment was light and probably due to the temperature(90+) from sitting in a hot UPS truck and the removal of the shim was due to a personal preference due to my stlye of play. Ease of play is incredible.It is easy to bend notes, hammer on, or pull off. In fact I'm having to consciously lighten up and try not to be too heavy handed.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The finish is beautiful. The volume and tone is amazing for a guitar this size and price. I read some reviews that criticized it for it's lack of bottom tone. I disagree. It has plenty of bottom voice. Not as big and fat a sound as a good dreadnought, but for it's size it's amazing. So let's compare apples to apples. It out sings a Martin hands down, and completes with plenty others costing twice as much. Oh, the wood is gourgeous too by the way,obviously high grade.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$200 -$600. There are some solid mahogany high quality, not fancy, baritone ukeleles out there that cost that much.

How would you rate customer support?
Personal, attentive, very responsive and appreciative of your business. The guarantee cannot be beaten which is what helped me decide to try one. When a company stands as firmly behind their product as Zager does it's a good bet that it is a quality product or they would go broke taking back returned guitars. The guarantee speaks for itself.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely! I have already recommended them to a friend of mine who has the same hand problems I do. These guitars would be immediately appreciated by an experienced player who has a lot to compare it to, and would keep a beginner from getting too easily frustrated. Another thing that was important to me is that it was MADE IN THE USA.

Additional comments:
Playing the guitar is something that has always been a meditative, trancendental kind of thing for me, so being able to play again goes way beyond just finding a decent guitar. Thanks Denny and Dennis!

<rhillon3@yahoo.com>
Reno, Nevada
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
The playability of this guitar easily rivals a 3,000 guitar. Smooth action and no buzz. I had an Epiphone which was stolen quite a few years ago and thought it was a great guitar but it was not this nice.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Crisp, full sound and tuning is a breeze with the Fishman system. (Can you really fall in love with a guitar?)

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
If I didn't know the price I'd say it was easily in the 2,000 to 3,000 range.

How would you rate customer support?
I am impressed! It's difficult to get good customer support but you guys rock! Dennis always answered my questions with real professionalism and never pushed. Kind of rare these days in sales support.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would absolutely recommend this guitar. If you want a high end guitar without the high end price, a guitar you can be proud of and that is very playable and will make you sound better as a player, this is it.

Additional comments:
Denny, thanks for a great guitar! Dennis, thanks for all of your quick email responses over the last few months while I did my research and "checking things out". I don't want to leave out the on-line lessons either, nice to have that available. I signed up for them on the first day and spent over two hours practicing. With the Epiphone I would have had sore fingers and I don't. (You gotta love that!)


Montgomery, Alabama
11 months ago
Model: ZAD-80

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Over the years, I've played a number of acoustic guitars; Martin, Ovation, Gibson and an Epiphone that is approaching fifty (my first guitar). The ZAD80 is superior in action and definitely on par for tone with some higher end guitars.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Playability. I haven't quite figured out why but in general it's an instrument that plays easy. Not really sure how to describe.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1200-$1600

How would you rate customer support?
Outstanding. Almost instant reply to messages.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes, for your attention to detail and quality. The instrument I recently purchased was discounted due to a cosmetic flaw. I'd give the guitar to anyone and challenge them to find it. That says something about your quality control.

Additional comments:
You are a pleasure to deal with. Thank you.

<gatlaw@aol.com>
Roseville, California
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
First let me point out that the guitar I purchased from Denny was a ZAD-20, not a 20, but there was no option to choose that model. I used a 3/4 size Guild when I was in College (in the 70's) and purchased a Madeira from a local NYC shop that was closing it's doors in the 80's. The Madeira was definitely NOT an EZ play guitar...and it was probably what kept me from playing a lot more in those years. I bought a few lower end Washburn models off the internet and the ZAD-20 outshines them all...soundwise and playability. I gave the Madeira and one of the Washburns to my son but closely guard the ZAD-20 as my favorite. I may update that from Denny's collection soon as I am slowly becoming more adept at this instrument. I can play for hours now (calloused fingers help) and my wife actually enjoys my "concerts". I have NOT spent a lot of hours playing guitars in the box stores (Sam Ash, Guitar Center, etc.) but I intend to do so. I do NOT think I will find anything near the price I paid for the ZAD-20 (or the updated model prices) that will sound so sweet and play so easily.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Definitely the ease of playing. The sound is a function of the strings against the frets and unless you can get a clean contact the sound will never be good. I don't have to worry about it when I am playing the ZAD-20.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would say around $720 or so. My son is a musician and lives with several guitarists. I have played their Gibsons and various other models and I would say my ZAD-20 is right up there with their instruments.

How would you rate customer support?
I have never had a problem so I would not know. I did write to Dennis Jr. and got a response within the hour which was a pleasant surprise.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes. You cannot beat the price and the unlimited warranty including shipping both ways is simply the best testimonial to the Zager line.

Additional comments:
Pretty finish as well. I am sorry I rubbed off the signature on the back but after years of use it was to be expected. May Denny can come to NY and re-sign it?

<tdavis12@gmail.com>
Elizabeth, New Jersey
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It was my first guitar. i now have a 65 Epiphone 335 (dot) and a Gibson VOS 1957 Goldtop. I had it rewired with 4 push/pull pots. Vol pots turn humbucker into single coil, tone pots take it out of phase, and put it in series. very versatile guitar. I have NO need for another acoustic. lol

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
All of it. and the fact that everyone that plays it is blown away. Friend of mine has a Martin, nice guitar... Until he played mine. He was amazed at the tone and playability. I played his Martin. Did I say play? I mean I fought his Martin.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
2k

How would you rate customer support?
A+

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I have already

Additional comments:
Gotta remember, this was my first guitar. I did my research (It had the highest rating on Harmony Central of all Acoustic Guitars) My neighbor just finished playing it, I put new strings on it today, and he was blown away. I asked him if I should use a Medium string, he said "dont fix it if it isn't broke" lol He said the SP martins are made for that guitar. He wants to borrow it for church, funerals, etc... Now I guess I need a case for it... lol Terry Davis 239 Badger Circle Roxboro, NC 27573

<tdavis12@gmail.com>
Oceanside, California
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-50CE Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It was my first guitar. i now have a 65 Epiphone 335 (dot) and a Gibson VOS 1957 Goldtop. I had it rewired with 4 push/pull pots. Vol pots turn humbucker into single coil, tone pots take it out of phase, and put it in series. very versatile guitar. I have NO need for another acoustic. lol

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
All of it. and the fact that everyone that plays it is blown away. Friend of mine has a Martin, nice guitar... Until he played mine. He was amazed at the tone and playability. I played his Martin. Did I say play? I mean I fought his Martin.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
2k

How would you rate customer support?
A+

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I have already

Additional comments:
Gotta remember, this was my first guitar. I did my research (It had the highest rating on Harmony Central of all Acoustic Guitars) My neighbor just finished playing it, I put new strings on it today, and he was blown away. I asked him if I should use a Medium string, he said "dont fix it if it isn't broke" lol He said the extra light SP martins are made for that guitar. He wants to borrow it for church, funerals, etc... Now I guess I need a case for it... lol Terry Davis 239 Badger Circle Roxboro, NC 27573

<contactjasonhowell@yahoo.com>
Pasadena, Texas
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have tried many Acoustic Guitars at Guitar Center and every single one of them doesn't compare to the ZAD80CE! They just didn't ring out the Chords and the buzzing strings were annoying.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I have been playing for almost a year now, but embarrassed to admit that I have never learned Guitar Chords, because it was so difficult until now. I am truly amazed at how well the Chords "ring out" on my new ZAD80CE. It is actually enjoyable to learn a new Chord Each day. Thank You! Thank You!

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
I would have paid at least $1720 for this guitar. The prices are way too low. I imagine in the future that the pricing will have to change because of the Laws of Supply and Demand.

How would you rate customer support?
Dennis has been amazing. He has a Live Chat via the Zager website. I emailed him a question and literally 5 minutes later, he had an answer!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would recommend this guitar, because of its ease of use (ie. the EzPlay Setup) and the guitar is absolutely gorgeous.

Additional comments:
I definitely made the right choice purchasing the ZAD80CE. I can tell that Zager is looking out for "our" best interests and not theirs... There aren't enough American Companies like this anymore. Please keep up the great work guys!

<pck558@comcast.net>
Garden Grove, California
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar is absolutly the best one I own. I have an Ovation Legend since 1972, A very great sounding guitar, but not the easiest to play, A Carvin 980, beautiful guitar. It plays fairly easy and sounds good, but the body is so large that it is uncomfortable to play while sitting. I also have a Ibanez semi hollow electric and a Carvin Bolt kit I built Both good but need to plug in. The Zager is as easy to play as a well set up electric and the sound and action gets better every day. The guitar is beautiful to say the least. I used to go to the music store to play guitars I could not afford. I have tried them all. Now I go to see if any one can make a guitar as good as my Zager for under $3000.00 NO ONE HAS

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Plays very easily, Sounds and looks great

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
At least $3000.00

How would you rate customer support?
I can't praise the support enough. Every comunication I have had seems like I am dealing with a very good friend or family member 10 x 10 is not even close.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
yes I have and will continue to do so. I have two teen age grand daughters who have just decided to learn guitar. As soon as I am sure that they will stick with it , they both will recive a Zager from me.

Additional comments:
I am very sorry that I didn't discover Zager sooner. Denny is very honest and will never need to put someone elses name on a guitar just to sell it for a few thousand dollars more Like all the major guitar makers do.

<tjbanjopicker2007@yahoo.com>
Detroit, Michigan
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-20 Natural

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Plays much easier.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Playability and just gorgeous

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
much higher than what I paid for sure.

How would you rate customer support?
Can't beat it.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I have already recommended it to my brother and he bought one and loves it. I recommend it to everyone.

Additional comments:
My wife and I play southern/bluegrass gospel music and we play in a lot of churches and jams around NW Indiana and my Zager ZAD20 goes with me everywhere. I just love how it plays so easy and is just a beautiful guitar and sounds great. I would someday like to have a ZAD80 too. I'll put it on my wish list for Santa...ha. Anyway, I highly recommend the Zager guitars for anyone from a beginner to a pro. Can't go wrong.

<bushido39@yahoo.com>
Newark, New Jersey
12 months ago
Model: ZAD-80

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I was playing a Michael Kelly Rose cut away that was custom setup by my luthier friend and has incredible action and tone quality. I would put this guitar up against any for playability and tone. truly a very nice instrument. I have played many guitars in all price ranges and my Kelly Rose held its own against all of them but a few. When my ZAD 80 arrived i was giddy as a child at Christmas. Absolutely Beautiful guitar. incredible workmanship and the finest playing guitar i ever had in my hands. Tones rich and full, perfect highs, Bass that you can feel. Great Volume with out over strumming and action so light i couldn't believe it. I played twice as long as I normally do with no discomfort so in comparison... there is none blows the Michael Kelly out of the water. My friends $5,000 Martin compares in tonal quality but when it comes to action and ease of play it does not compare either.... enough said?

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Playability and tonal quality unsurpassed.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$2000. plus

How would you rate customer support?
Personal and effortless 10 out of 10

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I do I will and will continue too. best value in guitars bar none = Zager



St. Louis, Missouri
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
It plays "as they say" real EZ. Smooth, and was blown away by the rich sound.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Well, there is a lot to like. The finish and build are stunning. But I guess I would have to say the ease of playing for long periods without your fingers getting tired.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
Well over $2000.00 for sure

How would you rate customer support?
Very impressive, amazing communication, this company can teach many other companies a thing or two about great customer service!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely I would and would be very proud to!

Additional comments:
Not much more I can say except it was packed really well and arrived exactly when they said it would. Their video support on the website is really well done and detailed. Denny is an amazing, patient teacher for sure. His reputation is priority number one, and no guitar will go out unless he approves it. I am very happy. Thanks...

<rlabaye1@irf.com>
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar sounds really brilliant and quality of work is top class. Of course, I have bought guitars 25 years at less than $100.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The ease in playing, the beautiful finish and quality components.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$1600

How would you rate customer support?
Outstanding.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutely. The outstanding customer service and money back guarantee. This shows that you have great confidence and take so much pride in your product.

Additional comments:
I had the guitar delivered at work and even before I received shipment, I have been talking to colleagues about the guitar. We were all excited upon receiving and had 4 guys try it out. They all admired the beauty and quality. One guy wouldn't let go and played for 2 hours.

<xxmalwareremoverxx@gmail.com>
Athens, Georgia
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-20E Sunburst

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
This guitar is amazing and so much easier to play. I would recommend this to a beginner or an advanced player!

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
Its beautiful design and easy play capability.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$720

How would you rate customer support?
10/10 This company sticks behind their lifetime warranty and is absolutely amazing!

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes! It is amazing in every way. Beautiful, Easy play, electric, great sound, what more could you ask for in an acoustic?



Charlotte, North Carolina
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
Ite is not as 'clunky' as my Ibanez classicial thin body electric, and holds a tune better. And ir is MUCH easier to play than my big Guild D-55.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The CE - cutaway electric - allows me to get way up the neck, and the OM - orchestra model - is 15% smaller, making for easier playing. The built in controls are nice, but the integrated tuner really makes for easy, accurate tuning.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
For an instrument this precise I would pay 20% - 100% more than I did.

How would you rate customer support?
Support is second to none. Classic underpromise and overdeliver. The free shipping got it to me 48 hours after I placed my order. Then customer support said the hardshell case was on backorder, but it arrived in a cardboard box inside a hardshell case. They had a prototype (improved) case with humidor and indicator they gave to me at no extra charge. Not to mention the extra set of strings, picks, documentation, and a signed concert picture.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would highly recommend the Zager family guitars - for this is a true family business - to anyone. I was instantly a better player because of the neck construction, custom string placement and the low, easy action. No buzzing. I compared it to my other guitars and I sounded much more professional.

Additional comments:
Did I mention this was a blem? That consisted of about 4 pinsized marks on the side near the jack. Even I cant see it unless the guitar is on its side and I am right on top of it. I am considering sending my $2200 Guild to Denny to see if he can do the Zager magic to it like he has to so many other high end guitars over the decades.

<salhanas@yahoo.com>
Cary, North Carolina
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-50CE OM

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
My first guitar was a Takamine Jasmine and the Zager is so much better and easier to play.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The ease of playing....the string pressure is so much nicer and takes so much less pressure to play which makes this an easier guitar to play for any amount of time, especially when learning to play and need to practice a lot. Sound quality is a big plus!

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
At least over a $1,000 which it isn't.

How would you rate customer support?
Excellent, got my guitar only a few days after ordering and the on-line support is excellent. My questions were answered promptly.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes definitely....it is so easy to play and has such a beautiful sound quality. I have friends that play Martins and they are definitely impressed with the quality of the sound and the ease of playing it; it's hard to get them to give it back to me! I am so happy to have this wonderful guitar! I also love this size.

Additional comments:
I believe anyone buying a Zager would be extremely pleased to own one as I have been.

<okpaloma@yahoo.com>
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have owned many different guitars including high end models from Martin, Takamine, and Ovation. I have played Martins and others in the stores. This Zager is a very nice, wonderful sounding guitar. It is much easier to play than any other guitar (with steel strings) I have held.This guitar just feels perfect in my hands.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
What is my favorite part? The whole guitar is my favorite part. I just enjoy playing it. It sounds great, it looks great. It is a very sweet guitar that feels very good in my hands and sounds magical to my ears. It sounds great unplugged and it sounds great plugged in.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
This guitar could easily be sold for twice the price if it were sold in retail store. I would say somewhere around the $18-$1900 point would be very realistic. I have played some much more expensive guitars that do not sound or play as good as the Zager. This guitar proves a person can spend too much for a name on a guitar.

How would you rate customer support?
Customer support at Zager Guitar should be the model for customer support in America! I have always received prompt responses to my e-mail questions, doing business was very easy and seem to have a personal touch to the transaction. It is sad that other businesses seem to have lost the ability to really go out of their way to earn someone's business. Customer service with Zager guitar could not be any better in my opinion. I was very satisfied in doing business with them.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Yes I would. I have had an outstanding experience. I found this website accidentally and learned about Zager guitars. it takes a certain amount of risk to buy something as personal as a guitar over the Internet. I have had a couple of negative experiences doing this on eBay. However, this company offers a money back guarantee and even agrees to pay for shipping both ways if I didn't like the guitar. I took a chance, I bought the guitar, and I have been very impressed with my purchase. I now own a guitar that appeals to my eyes, ears and let's not forget, hands! I can play this guitar for hours on end and not be sore. Because of this, I know I will progress faster in my knowledge and ability to play the guitar because of me not wanting to put this guitar down.

Additional comments:
For anyone who reads this testimonial, I am not working for this company, nor am I being compensated. I'm just a customer who took a chance on something I read on a website and researched what other people posted for about two years before buying a Zager guitar. An acoustic guitar is a very personal instrument. It has to feel good in your hands, it has to sound good, and you should get good value for your money regardless of who makes the guitar. From my own personal experiences, it is very easy to get into the brand name game. People will debate whether a Gibson is better than a Martin or a Martin is better than a Martin and the debates rage on. There is also pressure put on players b the big companies who pay the stars to play or endorse their products. I am not here to tell you that my Zager ZAD80 Electric Acoustic is greater than a 1957 Martin D 28 or a Gibson J200. That's just something that is too subjective and not realistic. What I am going to tell you is that it is easy to get caught in brand debate. I have been there and done that with some guitars purchases I have made in the past. My new Zager guitar is a high-quality instrument that stands on its own merits. It is beautiful to look at, it rings out like a harp, the action is the best action I have ever had in a guitar. It has high quality Grover tuners and a Fishman Tuner/ Eq/Preamp. I look forward to playing it every day. My fingers are never sore after playing it. I am proud to own this guitar and it also proves something at least to me: I didn't have to break the bank to get an outstanding guitar and a very reasonable price from a company that is very good to do business with. Had I purchased this guitar first, is highly probable that I would if not purchased the other guitars and saved myself a lot of money. I love my new Zager guitar. It is a keeper and seems to be "the" guitar I was looking for!


Moreno Valley, California
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I really like my Zager a lot. It is compariable to the playability of my ES335.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
I can play or long periods of time without fatigue

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$2000

How would you rate customer support?
Very good. Great support and nice to work with at the point of sell.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
Absolutly. This guitar will allow you to play longer. It alos, and I'm not sure how it is done, but allows me to play chords I struggle with on my other guitars much easier.

Additional comments:
If you don't have a Zager... GET ONE!

<m.alex.john@gmail.com>
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
The ZAD80ce is honestly in a league of its own. One simply cannot purchase a guitar of this quality for the price Denny is asking. I own an Ovation Balladeer from way back. Although it has a lot of sentimental it simply can't compare with the ZAD80ce

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
My favorite part of this guitar is the sound. It's rich, deep and sweet to the ears.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
$3000 plus

How would you rate customer support?
Second to none.

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I already have recommended the ZAD80ce as well as the others depending on the person I'm talking to.

Additional comments:
I would really like to encourage everyone reading this review to check out Denny Zager's online guitar instruction. I've been playing for almost 30 years but there's no substitute for learning from a professional of Denny's caliber.

<jmayer@hawaii.edu>
San Bernardino, California
1 year ago
Model: ZAD-80CE

How does this guitar compare with your old guitar, other guitars, or guitars you've tried in stores?
I have had many guitars but this one plays the best. It is very light weight but it has excellent sound. It has the best action of any guitar I have every owned. Great case too.

What's your favorite part about this guitar?
The action makes it fun to play and the guitar is well made and features beautiful inlay.

If you didn't know the price of this guitar what would you estimate the price to be?
perhaps $1200-$2000.

How would you rate customer support?
Jill communicated very promptly and in a professional yet very friendly manner. The shipping was fast and well packed. I appreciate all the extra information that came with the guitar

Would you recommend this guitar to others…if so why?
I would recommend this guitar and this company. The guitar is fantastic and the service and communication from the Zager group was excellent.

Additional comments:
After 30+ years of playing I finally have what I consider a great guitar. I just need to get it away from our sons who have recently taken up guitar.